In a competitive process initiated by the Leibniz Association, the DIE gained special funds for additional jobs to advance its research profile and services. It has broadened its promotion of academic junior researchers from initially one to five Junior Research Groups and also integrates post graduates.

Increasing expectations for research to convey new knowledge quickly and effectively to politics and practice initiated the approach. Particularly member institutions of the Leibniz Association are dedicated to conducting research for society's benefit.

Since the beginning of 2018, in addition to the existing Junior Research Group, four other goups with two doctoral students focus on testing scientific findings in practice. The topics include:

  • Effects and revenues of education-political interventions in the field of continuing education (Head: Dr. Andreas Martin)
  • Connections between institutional frame conditions and programme structures of continuing education in an international comparison (Head: Dr. phil Katrin Kaufmann-Kuchta)
  • Audiovisual instruction and information (Head: Dr. rer. nat. Martin Merkt)
  • Fostering professional beliefs of teaching staff in adult education in professional learning communities (Head: Dr. phil. Dörthe Herbrechter)

 

Junior Research Group Goeze

Professional competences of continuing educators
Head: Dr. Annika Goeze
PhD students: Christian Marx and Dorett Schneider
PhD: Dr. Petra Hetfleisch

The first group for young researchers was established in 2013 at the DIE. It focuses on "Professional competences of continuing educators" and is assigned to the department "Teaching, Learning, Counselling". The group studies professional competences of continuing educators within five research projects with various different methodological and content-related perspectives. Research designs are mostly qualitative and quantitative and include explorative, hypothesising research as well as hypothesis testing (quasi) experimental intervention and implementation studies and test structures.

 

Junior Research Group Herbrechter

Fostering professional beliefs of teaching staff in adult education in professional learning communities
Head: Dr. Dörthe Herbrechter
PhD students: Eva Katinka Hahnrath and Xenia Kuhn

Findings from current educational research show that teacher beliefs and values are relevant for their professional competence. Following this, this junior research group focuses on the so far little-researched beliefs of teaching staff in adult education with the aim of examining possibilities to develop and foster teacher beliefs in an intervention study. Applying qualitative and quantitative methods, the mental foundation of professional competence as well as forms of „near the job“ professionalisation through collegial counselling in professional learning communities will be focused. Against this background, the junior research group is thematically assigned to the department „Teaching, Learning, Counselling“.

 

Junior Research Group Kaufmann-Kuchta

Study of connections between institutional frame conditions and programme structures of continuing education in an international comparison with the help of contrastive case-studies
Head Dr. Katrin Kaufmann-Kuchta
PhD students: Anna Caroline Bernhardt and Diana Trevino-Eberhard

This Junior Research Group is assigned to the department "System and Politics" and investigates connections between legal and financial regulations and institutional programme structures of continuing education in three countries based on contrastive case-studies. The focus will be on at least partly publicly funded providers of continuing education such as public educational institutions and universities, which are (in)directly influence by state regulated institutional frame conditions. The Junior Research Group focuses on describing the embedding of continuing education system structures in (country specific) institutional regimes on a common abstract level. Document and programme analyses as well as expert interviews are conducted. The findings will be the base for further research to specify the correlation between multi-level systems of continuing education.

 

Junior Research Group Martin

Effects and revenues of education-political interventions in the field of continuing education
Head: Dr. Andreas Martin
PhD students: Julia Granderath and Fabian Rüter

The Junior Research Group is aligned with research conducted in the department "System and Politics". It concentrates on effects and revenues of education-political interventions in the multi-level system of continuing education based on quantiative secondary anaylises. It focuses on the effects of supranational and national interference of education policy on the programme and participation structure and its monetary and non-monetary consequences on various aggregation levels.

 

Junior Research Group Merkt

Audiovisual instruction and information
Head: Dr. Martin Merkt
PhD students: Dennis Berse and Thea Hensen

The junior research group is associated with the department for “Research Infrastructures”. One focus of the research conducted in this group is on the design of instructional videos, trying to identify principles that may guide production, post-production, and the embedding of videos in more complex learning environments. Another focus of the group’s research emphasizes the critical analysis of audiovisual information. In this respect, interventions that support learners in identifying videos’ manipulative intent will be developed.

  

last changed 7/13/2018

Das DIE hat 2017 in einem wettbewerblichen Verfahren der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft zusätzliche Stellen für die Weiterentwicklung seines Forschungsprofils und seiner Dienstleistungsaufgaben eingeworben. Damit weitet das DIE seine Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses von einer auf insgesamt fünf Nachwuchsgruppen aus und bindet auch Post-Docs verstärkt ein.

Hintergrund sind die in den letzten Jahren deutlich gestiegenen Erwartungen an die Forschung, neues Wissen schnell und wirksam an Politik und Praxis zu vermitteln. Das gilt insbesondere für Institute der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, die sich dem Ziel verpflichtet haben, "Wissenschaft zum Wohle der Gesellschaft" zu betreiben.

Mit Beginn des Jahres 2018 sind – zusätzlich zur bereits existierenden Nachwuchsgruppe – vier weitere Nachwuchsgruppen mit je zwei Doktorandenstellen aktiv, die sich auf die Erprobung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse in der Praxis konzentrieren werden. Dies sind die Themen:

  • Wirkungen und Erträge bildungspolitischer Interventionen im Feld der Weiterbildung
    (Leitung Dr. Andreas Martin)
  • Zusammenhänge zwischen institutionellen Rahmenbedingungen und Angebotsstrukturen der Weiterbildung im internationalen Vergleich (Leitung Dr. phil. Katrin Kaufmann-Kuchta)
  • Entwicklung und Analyse audiovisueller Wissens- und Informationsmedien (Leitung Dr. rer. nat. Martin Merkt)
  • Professionelle Überzeugungen von Lehrkräften der Weiterbildung und deren Förderung in professionellen Lerngemeinschaften (Leitung Dr. phil. Dörthe Herbrechter)

 

 Die fünf Nachwuchsgruppen im Einzelnen:

Nachwuchsgruppe Goeze

Professionelle Kompetenzen des Weiterbildungspersonals
Leitung: Dr. Annika Goeze
Doktoranden: Christian Marx und Dorett Schneider
Postdoktorandin: Dr. des. Petra Hetfleisch

2013 wurde am DIE die erste Nachwuchsgruppe eingerichtet. Sie beschäftigt sich mit Professionellen Kompetenzen des Weiterbildungspersonals und ist der Abteilung Lehren, Lernen, Beraten zugeordnet. Die Gruppe erforscht die professionellen Kompetenzen des Weiterbildungspersonals im Rahmen von fünf Forschungsprojekten aus je unterschiedlichen methodischen und inhaltlichen Perspektiven. Die Forschungsdesigns sind zumeist qualitativ und quantitativ ausgerichtet und umfassen sowohl explorative, hypothesengenerierende Untersuchungen als auch hypothesenprüfende (quasi-)experimentelle Interventions- und Implementationsstudien sowie Testkonstruktion.

 

Nachwuchsgruppe Herbrechter

Professionelle Überzeugungen von Lehrenden der Weiterbildung und ihre Förderung in professionellen Lerngemeinschaften
Leitung: Dr. phil. Dörthe Herbrechter
Doktorandinnen: Eva Katinka Hahnrath und Xenia Kuhn

Befunde der bisherigen Bildungsforschung zeigen, dass für die professionelle Kompetenz von Lehrenden auch ihre Überzeugungen und Werthaltungen relevant sind. Hieran anschließend rückt diese Nachwuchsgruppe die bislang noch wenig erforschten Überzeugungen von Lehrenden der Erwachsenen- und Weiterbildung mit dem Ziel in den Mittelpunkt, ihre Entwicklung und Förderung in einer Interventionsstudie genauer zu untersuchen. Unter Anwendung qualitativer und quantitativer Methoden werden damit zum einen mentale Grundlagen der professionellen Kompetenz und zum anderen Formen ihrer berufsbegleitenden Professionalisierung durch kollegiale Beratung in professionellen Lerngemeinschaften fokussiert. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist die Nachwuchsgruppe thematisch der Abteilung Lehren, Lernen, Beraten zugeordnet.

 

Nachwuchsgruppe Kaufmann-Kuchta

Untersuchung von Zusammenhängen institutioneller Rahmenbedingungen und Angebotsstrukturen der Weiterbildung im internationalen Vergleich mit Hilfe kontrastiver Fallstudien
Leitung Dr. phil. Katrin Kaufmann-Kuchta
Doktorandinnen: Anna Caroline Bernhardt und Diana Trevino-Eberhard

In der Nachwuchsgruppe der Abteilung System und Politik werden mit Hilfe von kontrastiven Fallstudien in drei Ländern Zusammenhänge zwischen rechtlichen und finanziellen Regulierungen und institutionellen Angebotsstrukturen der Weiterbildung untersucht. Fokussiert werden voraussichtlich öffentliche Bildungseinrichtungen und Hochschulen als mindestens anteilig öffentlich finanzierte Weiterbildungsanbieter, die (un-)mittelbar von staatlich regulierten institutionellen Rahmenbedingungen beeinflusst sind. Ziel der Nachwuchsgruppe ist es, die Einbettung von Weiterbildungssystemstrukturen in (länderspezifische) institutionelle Regime auf einem allgemeinen Abstraktionsniveau zu beschreiben. Hierfür werden Dokumentenanalysen, Experteninterviews und Programmanalysen durchgeführt. Die Ergebnisse sollen eine Grundlage für weiterführende Forschungsarbeiten zur Spezifizierung der Zusammenhänge im Mehrebenensystem der Weiterbildung darstellen.

 

Nachwuchsgruppe Martin

Wirkungen und Erträge bildungspolitischer Interventionen im Feld der Weiterbildung
Leitung: Dr. Andreas Martin
Doktoranden: Julia Granderath und Fabian Rüter

Die an den Arbeitsschwerpunkten der Abteilung System und Politik orientierte Nachwuchsgruppe geht auf der Grundlage von quantitativen Sekundäranalysen den Wirkungen und Erträgen bildungspolitischer Interventionen im Mehrebenensystem der Weiterbildung nach. Im Zentrum stehen dabei die Effekte von Eingriffen supranationaler und nationaler Akteure der Bildungspolitik auf Angebots- und Teilnahmestrukturen und deren monetären und nichtmonetären Folgen auf unterschiedlichen Aggregationsniveaus.

 

Nachwuchsgruppe Merkt

Entwicklung und Analyse audiovisueller Wissens- und Informationsmedien
Leitung: Dr. rer. nat. Martin Merkt
Doktoranden: Dennis Berse und Thea Hensen

Die Nachwuchsgruppe Entwicklung und Implementation audiovisueller Wissens- und Informationsmedien für Lern- und Bildungsprozesse ist der Abteilung Forschungsinfrastrukturen zugeordnet. Sie erforscht, wie der Einsatz videobasierter Inhalte in der Erwachsenenbildung optimiert werden kann. Ein erster Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Darbietung und Aufbereitung von Inhalten. Hier werden Forschungsfragen adressiert, die sowohl bei der Produktion, der Post-Produktion, als auch bei der Einbettung von Videos in komplexere Lernumgebungen ansetzen. Ein zweiter Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Unterstützung eines angemessenen Umgangs mit im Internet veröffentlichten Videos. So sollen Indikatoren für die Identifikation vertrauensvoller Quellen herausgearbeitet und in entsprechenden Interventionen vermittelt werden.

Letzte Änderung 13.07.2018